Saturday, November 8, 2008

dust congress 0005

the cut ups -- Jusserand, available now.

Track listing:

1. paintings falling down
2. going to brussels
3. new year's eve
4. beautiful dead to be
5. california questions
6. all that's left
7. on the corner
8. perfect water
9. sometimes
10. june june 30
11. alcohol

-- tracks 1, 5, 7, 9, 10, and 11 produced, engineered and recorded at goof city, wdc by the cut ups

-- tracks 2, 4, and 8 produced, engineered and recorded at the national crayon museum in wdc by dallas kentucky

-- tracks 3 and 6 produced, engineered and recorded at many's basement in arlington, virginia by john howard

-- mastered @ silver sonya, arlington, virginia

-- Beautiful Dead to Be featured in Washington City Paper's One Track Mind column.

-- New Year's Eve played on WTJU.

-- Videos for New Year's Eve and All That's Left, by YouTube user fcbridge.

-- Live video of going to brussels from our first performance, at Solly's (wdc), filmed by YouTube user bbqn1.

-- Review by Leafy Green.

For a cd of Jusserand, please write to

Also available (as download) at Amazon and iTunes.

Sunday, July 29, 2007

dust congress 0003

Track Listing:

1. Porch Light -- The Results
2. National Bird -- Delta Song
3. Lady Lay Down -- Holla Copter
4. Tuscaloosa -- The Foreign Press
5. Deathbird -- Los Gran Torinos
6. Is Not A Cowboy -- Rising Shotgun
7. Tell Us -- Slicing Ginger
8. The Flag Makers -- New Holland
9. Ancient Age -- The Rodeo Boys
10. Trashfire -- The Fake Accents

"If you're not a regular reader of Dust Congress you're missing out on a veritable smorgasborg of good stuff from Poetry to music to political musings to photography and a bevy of quality links. Not long ago Dust Congress entered into the record business starting up a label, Dust Congress Records. Well, I have in my hands the current result of their labors SJBB3P: Part 2. I'm not sure what number one entailed but I think I have a good idea of the genesis of the idea. Mr. Dust Congress is a huge Silver Jews fan and to that end spends a good deal of time on the Silver Jews bulletin board (SJBB, get it). It seems that the frequent contributors over there are a fairly talented bunch musically, they're in bands and they write songs and if you ever wondered how much of an influence David Berman could be on a generation of songwriters this particular compilation hints at the answer. The 10 songs by ten different bands on SJBB3P: Part 2 have Berman's paw marks all over them. Whether it's the slightly atonal vocal stylings, semi-country jangle, or the boy/girl harmonies that strongly resemble Berman and wife a la Tanglewood Numbers, the common thread here is Silver Jews.

Of course, that's probably the point given the source and inspiration of the compilation. And while I feel the similarities in tone need to be mentioned (there are times when the disc feels like a songwriters 101 project: write a song in the style of...), it shouldn't denigrate the quality of the songs which range from OK to pretty fucking brilliant and as often as not rise high enough to stand shoulder to shoulder with their source material." -- bars and guitars, March 14, 2006.

"That's gonna be like the Nuggets of the OOs." -- peat moss, sjbb

Sold Out!

Saturday, July 28, 2007

dust congress 0001

erratically recorded, ergonomically produced
drenched in the pleasures of the evening
unmastered, unregulated, unnecessary
HEARTS KINGS LIES: 12 tales of the times

track listing:

1. in a flash
2. long face
3. gone so
4. no exit strategy (motherfucker)
5. how do you breathe?
6. just for money
7. unfamiliar bed
8. breaker one nine
9. wish
10. come home with me
11. destabilize the middle east
12. grey area

The Cut-Ups "Hearts Kings Lies"

It's late at night in a livingroom somewhere in George Bush's America. You pour a big glass of bourbon. Leave the ice out, it will just get in the way. The first sip burns all the way down; a rich, caressing flame. "Hearts Kings Lies" by The Cut-Ups plays on the stereo. There are songs strummed on guitar, decorated lightly with some piano here, some drums there. The songs allude to heartaches hidden in city rooms, dramas played out in smoky bars, and the bigger problem of America today where the patriotic binary- you are either red or blue- is as strong as ever. If you have to live in a time when war is called peace and poverty is called prosperity, you need to find kindred spirits. The Cut-Ups follow the footsteps of literary beatniks old and new- Ed Sanders (Fugs), David Berman (Silver Jews) - writers who use rock music to get their words out to an audience stuck somewhere in modern America. -- leafy green

Bars and Guitars featured the cut ups on May 20, 2005.

the cut ups @ myspace

Hearts Kings Lies is still available, contact us (dcr at for more info.